Talent & Education

Education and Workforce Talent
Access to Skilled Workforce

Located in western Kansas, America’s centerpiece is home to a variety of skilled workers. Our strong education system develops well-rounded students who feed into our advanced post-secondary education system. With diverse educational opportunities, Kansas is poised with a well-educated workforce that is ready to go to work.

Our technical and community colleges will customize training to accommodate business needs. See the diverse education system available in the center of it all.


North Central Kansas Technical College (NCK-Tech)

Two-year institution offering certifications and associate degrees in such fields as mechanics, distribution, automotive, welding, healthcare and construction trades. Ranked 7th in the nation among technical and community colleges by the Chronicle of Higher Education. NCK-Tech has campuses in Beloit and Hays.


Northwest Kansas Technical College

With a student body of more than 800 in Goodland, Northwest Tech offers associate degrees and certifications in such fields as automotive technology, business, computer graphics, electrical technology, engineering, precision agriculture, welding, and more.

Salina Area Technical College

Salina Tech

Two-year institution offering programs in automotive, machine tools, welding, electrical, construction, and commercial truck driving. Salina Tech also offers employability certifications as part of an adult workforce re-entry program.

Kansas State Polytechnic

Kansas State Polytechnic

Based in Salina, Kansas State Polytechnic is a branch campus of Kansas State University and home of the University's College of Technology and Aviation. The school offers specialized training in aviation and engineering.

Agricultural Research Centers

Agricultural Research Centers

These units of the Kansas State University Cooperative Research and Extension are located in Hays, Tribune, Garden City, and Colby. The program is focused on beef cattle and crop production for most of the major crops grown in Kansas.

Fort Hays State University

Fort Hays State University

Four-year institution, awarding degrees in liberal arts programs including business management, education, healthcare, and social sciences.

Kansas Community Colleges

The Sunflower Electric service region is home to five campuses of the Kansas Association of Community Colleges, which together have an enrollment of more than 1,400 students. Community colleges provide certificates and associate degrees in business and technology, healthcare, science and mathematics, animal science, agriculture equipment technology, and more.  Locations include:

  • Garden City Community College
  • Cloud County Community College
  • Dodge City Community College
  • Seward County Community College
  • Barton County Community College
  • Pratt Community College

Kansas Wesleyan University

Kansas Wesleyan University (KWU)

Located in Salina, KWU offers degrees in a variety of business disciplines and other liberal arts subjects to a total enrollment of nearly 800 students.

Wichita State University

Wichita State University (WSU)

With four campuses in the Wichita area and a total enrollment of more than 12,000 students, WSU is one of the largest public universities in Kansas. WSU offers more than 60 undergraduate degree programs in more than 200 areas of study in six colleges, along with graduate degrees in more than 100 areas. Specialties include chemistry, aerospace, industrial and mechanical engineering, electrical engineering, and computer science.